A library card is required of each patron checking out library materials from any of the four Anderson County libraries. Each library has separate cards for each patron.
Identification (photo ID), phone number and proof of residency showing a current mailing address is required.
The original library card is free and available to all Tennessee residents who meet the requirements; however, there will be a $1.00 fee for each replacement card that has been lost, damaged, or stolen. A photo ID must be presented to obtain a replacement card.
There is no minimum age requirement, however juveniles under the age of 18 need a parent’s or legal guardian’s permission and signature to obtain a library card. Parents/legal guardians are responsible for materials checked out on their juvenile’s card.
Patron accounts will be renewed every 3 years.
Library cards (or photo ID) must be presented to check out any library material.
Anyone under the age of 18 may check out only G-rated movies, in compliance with Tennessee Code Annotated 39-17-911. To check out movies with ratings above G anyone under the age of 18 needs a parent’s or legal guardian’s permission and signature with each checkout.
Borrowing privileges will be suspended when material is listed as 30 days overdue or fines have reached a total of $5.00 for any and all cards held under a patron’s signature. Borrowing privileges will be restored once material is accounted for and the fine balance is below $5.00.
The cardholder is responsible for any material checked out on their card, including lost, damaged, and/or stolen material.
Books, magazines, audiobooks – 14 days
DVDs and videos– 7 days
First time borrowers are limited to two items.
Books –individual library determines
DVDs and videos– 3
Reserves may be placed on material that is currently checked out.
Reserves will be held for three days. When the customer is notified that their reserve is available, they will also be told the date which the book will be returned to the shelf or given to the next person on the reserve list.
To maintain confidentiality and protect the privacy of our customers, only the customer who has reserved an item will be told the title of the item. The title may not be left on an answering machine.
Material not available in the library may be requested through Inter-library loan.
Renewals are at the discretion of the lending library.
Items may be renewed twice.
Items on reserve for someone else may not be renewed.
Extended renewals will be at the discretion of the Library Director.
Fines and Fees
A daily fine will be charged for each item that is overdue.
Books, magazines, audiobooks – .10 per item, per day
DVDs and videos – $1.00 per item, per day
Maximum overdue fines are $10.00 per item.
Fines will not exceed the cost of the item if cost of the item is under $10.00.
Lost and damaged material
The charge for lost material or material that is too damaged to be repaired will be the cost of the item.
The library is not responsible for personal equipment damaged by library materials.
Juvenile Video Permission Form
I, _________________________________________________, the parent
or legal guardian of_____________________________________________
do hereby give my permission for the following movies to be checked out.
Movie Title Rating
1. ____________________________________ _________
2. ____________________________________ _________
3. ____________________________________ _________
parent or guardian signature
Adopted by Anderson County Library Board June 16, 2011